Policy Watch


Equality Act 2010 - affects employers and employees and service users




The Equality Act 2010 has now become law. The Equality and Human Rights Commission has produced guidance for employers, workers, service providers and service users on what the new parts of the Act will mean for them.

There are nine protected characteristics for employees:

  • Disability
  • Gender reassignment
  • Marriage or civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sexual orientation
  • Sex (gender)
  • Age

Further useful information is available on the Mind website.